mspinky.com Forum Index mspinky.com
'Playing with Vinyl'
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Possible to use Pinky with one channel?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    mspinky.com Forum Index -> General And Misc. Topics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gavspav



Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:32 am    Post subject: Possible to use Pinky with one channel? Reply with quote

Is it possible to use Ms Pinky with one channel?

Just wondering if its possible to use in Max for Live and keep one channel free for mic input.

Obviously I can use a separate track for audio in but its making my patching more tricky.

Thanks

***Edit I should say that I have tried routing one channel to both inputs in the pinky object and it seems to work but does it have any implications for accuracy/stability etc

Hmm just realized I'm not getting any negative velocity information with just the one channel so I guess it won't work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mudo



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Location: ...Barcelona...

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...

Ms. Pinky object (as any DVS system) need two channels for accurate position tracking.

...
_________________
...

Mudo means mute person.


Researching new interface paradigms
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dlpinkstah
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 1075

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mudo's right. You really do need both channels of the control signal in order for it to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
guinee



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Location: charleston, sc

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:34 pm    Post subject: maybe? Reply with quote

I seem to be controlling vinyl ok with one line in:

1200 > rolls preamp > a 1/8" to 1/4" adapter >1instrument line-in on apogee one.

I believe these connections are all balanced stereo, no?

any possibility for controlling both decks' pitch control separately in ms. pinky with just one turntable? would the M4L patch be capable of doing so?


maxi patch sounds soooo much better than serato. fat resample is ill.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djnelson



Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

What I do at home to use 1 deck and control two mp3s is use the VST or Pluggo instance in my DAW. I use a free one called Arguru (http://www.aodix.com/pageaodixv4.html).

I connect the same input to the two separate instances of Ms Pinky. Select Vinyl control on the instance I wish to pitch / synch in.

After a mix, turn off vinyl control on the 2nd track. Swap over to the other instance and turn on vinyl control and cue up the next track.

I hope that helps you out or is what you were looking for.

Cheers
Nelson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mudo



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Location: ...Barcelona...

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 12:50 pm    Post subject: Re: maybe? Reply with quote

...
guinee wrote:
I seem to be controlling vinyl ok with one line in:

1200 > rolls preamp > a 1/8" to 1/4" adapter >1instrument line-in on apogee one.

I believe these connections are all balanced stereo, no?

any possibility for controlling both decks' pitch control separately in ms. pinky with just one turntable? would the M4L patch be capable of doing so?


maxi patch sounds soooo much better than serato. fat resample is ill.


DjNelson way is the RIGHT way. DVS need BOOTH channels for do the CORRECT TRACKING. Try to swap your L/R lines and discover why by yourself.

Razz

Thanks DjNelson for your help!

...
_________________
...

Mudo means mute person.


Researching new interface paradigms
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
djnelson



Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mudo : Thanks Cool

I think your sound card device is a mono device?

Is this the device "apogee one":

http://store.apple.com/uk/product/TW753ZM/A#overview

If so I think you need to connect to the two inputs if the jack input into the device is a mono input. In the FAQs on that page above someone mentions using the two line-ins to get a stereo input.

I'm not fully familiar with this device so these are only my suggestions from what I read on-line... Very Happy

EDIT: I just want to add, and maybe more directly answer your original question, that you definitely need stereo (2 inputs) for the time-code vinyl to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    mspinky.com Forum Index -> General And Misc. Topics All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP